• Central Park Conservancy Logo
  • Official Caretakers of Central Park

Central Park Alerts and Closures


Check this page for updates on major disruptions in Central Park. You can also follow us on Twitter for updates about alerts, closures and special events in Central Park.

Closed for the Season


All Lawns

Restrooms

Sunday, February 26, 2017

7:00 am - 1:00 pm

Race: NYCRUNS Central Park Half Marathon

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

11:00 am

Belvedere Castle

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

All day

Dairy Visitor Center & Gift Shop

Saturday, March 4, 2017

8:00 am - 4:00 pm

86th Street Transverse Road Closed
  • Closures and Affected Areas: The 86th Street Transverse Road from Central Park West to Fifth Avenue will be closed to all traffic for routine maintenance

Friday, March 17, 2017

10:00 am - 6:00 pm

St. Patrick's Day Parade

Sunday, March 19, 2017

6:00 am - 9:00 am

Race: United Airlines NYC Half Marathon

Saturday, March 25, 2017

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Central Park Spring Classic 10K

Saturday, March 25, 2017

8:00 am - 4:00 pm

96th Street Transverse Road Closed
  • Closures and Affected Areas: The 96th Street Transverse Road from Central Park West to Fifth Avenue will be closed to all traffic for routine maintenance.

Sunday, March 26, 2017

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Greek Parade

Saturday, April 1, 2017

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

NYRR Boomer's Cystic Fibrosis Run to Breathe (4M)
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded

Sunday, April 9, 2017

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

NYRR 10K
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded

Sunday, April 16, 2017

All day

Easter Sunday
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives closed to vehicle traffic

Sunday, April 23, 2017

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Run as One 4M Presented by JPMorgan Chase

Sunday, April 30, 2017

6:00 am - 1:00 pm

Race: NYRR SHAPE Women's Half-Marathon
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

All day

Conservatory Garden - Closed
  • Closures and Affected Areas: The Conservatory Garden will be closed all day for an event.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

All day

TD Five Boro Bike Tour

Sunday, May 14, 2017

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Japan Run 4M

Sunday, May 21, 2017

6:00 am - 4:00 pm

Walk: AIDS Walk New York
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Please be aware of these crowded areas: all Drives, Naumburg Bandshell, Literary Walk, Cherry Hill, Rumsey Playfield, and the paved surface between Sheep Meadow and the Mall. Cycling will be prohibited on the East Drive until early afternoon.
  • More Information: ny.aidswalk.net/

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

All Day

Heckscher Playground closed for benefit event in support of Central Park Conservancy

Monday, May 29, 2017

All day

Memorial Day
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives closed to vehicle traffic