• Central Park Conservancy Logo
  •  

Alerts & Closures


Check this page for updates on major disruptions and scheduled closures in Central Park. Please note that some areas of the Park close due to weather conditions. You can also follow us on Twitter for updates.


Closed for the Season


Lawns & Ballfields
  • Closures and Affected Areas: All fenced lawns and ballfields — including Sheep Meadow, the North Meadow Ballfields, and the Great Lawn — are closed for the season and will re-open April 6, 2019.

Monday, February 26, 2018  to  Friday, May 31, 2019

Belvedere Castle Closed for Restoration

Monday, August 13, 2018  to  Sunday, March 31, 2019

Safari Playground Closed for Reconstruction

Wednesday, October 10, 2018  to  Saturday, September 21, 2019

East 96th Street Playground Closed for Construction

Monday, October 15, 2018  to  Sunday, March 31, 2019

Some drinking fountains, spray features, ornamental fountains, and bathrooms are closed for the season, from mid-October until mid to late March.

Monday, March 18, 2019  to  Friday, March 22, 2019

10:00 PM-5:00 AM

97th Street Transverse Road closed overnight for construction

Monday, March 18, 2019  to  Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Billy Johnson Playground sandbox closed for equipment installation

Saturday, March 23, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Saturday, April 6, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Sunday, April 7, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Boomer's Cystic Fibrosis Run to Breathe (4M)

Sunday, April 14, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: SHAPE Women's Half-Marathon

Saturday, April 20, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Saturday, April 20, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Run as One (4M)

Sunday, April 28, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: UAE Healthy Kidney 10K

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

All day

Conservatory Garden will be closed to the public for a benefit to support the Central Park Conservancy.

Thursday, May 2, 2019

10:00 am - 3:00 pm

Conservatory Garden will be open with limited access.

Friday, May 3, 2019

12:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Conservatory Garden will be open with limited access.

Sunday, May 12, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Japan Run (4M)

Saturday, May 18, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

All Day

Heckscher Playground will be closed to the public for a benefit to support the Central Park Conservancy.

Sunday, June 2, 2019  to  Tuesday, June 4, 2019

All Day

Bethesda Arcade, Terrace, and Fountain will be open with limited access for a benefit to support the Central Park Conservancy.

Sunday, June 2, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Italy Run (5M)

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Bethesda Arcade, Terrace, and Fountain will be completely closed to the public for a benefit to support the Central Park Conservancy.

Thursday, June 6, 2019

All Day

On Thursday, June 6 Bethesda Arcade will be closed to the public.

Saturday, June 8, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR New York Mini 10K

Sunday, June 16, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

All day

Conservatory Garden will be open with limited access for a benefit to support the Central Park Conservancy.

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

All day

Conservatory Garden will be open with limited access for a benefit to support the Central Park Conservancy.

Sunday, June 23, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Achilles Hope & Possibility (4M)

Saturday, June 29, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Front Runners New York LGBT Pride Run (5M)

Sunday, June 30, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Saturday, July 6, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Saturday, July 13, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Retro 4-Miler

Saturday, July 27, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Team Championships (5M)

Saturday, August 3, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Sunday, August 4, 2019

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Manhattan 7 Mile

Saturday, August 17, 2019

5:00 am - 8:45 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Saturday, August 24, 2019

5:00 am - 8:30 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net

Saturday, August 31, 2019

5:00 am - 8:45 am

CRCA Bike Race
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Drives crowded
  • More Information: www.crca.net