• Central Park Conservancy Logo
  •  

Alerts & Closures


Check this page for updates on major disruptions and scheduled closures in Central Park. Please note that some areas of the Park close due to weather conditions. You can also follow us on Twitter for updates.


Fall 2018

NYC Parks and the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene have recently discovered raccoons infected with distemper in Central Park.

Test results have not discovered any health risk to humans.

Distemper is a viral illness that affects dogs and certain species of wildlife including raccoons and skunks. Raccoons with distemper act disoriented and lethargic, and they can become aggressive. Please avoid wildlife and check to see if your pet's vaccines are up to date.

Please call 311 if you see a sick or injured raccoon.

The Health Department will continue to monitor this condition.

Posted by NYC Parks: https://www.nycgovparks.org/news/notices


Closed for the Season


Lawns


Ballfields

Monday, December 4, 2017  to  Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Billy Johnson Playground is closed for reconstruction until October 2018

Monday, February 26, 2018  to  Friday, May 31, 2019

Belvedere Castle is closed for restoration

Monday, August 13, 2018  to  Monday, December 31, 2018

Safari Playground Closed for Reconstruction

Monday, August 27, 2018  to  Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Tarr Family Playground Closed for Repairs

Wednesday, October 10, 2018  to  Saturday, September 21, 2019

East 96th Street Playground Closed for Construction

Monday, October 15, 2018  to  Friday, October 26, 2018

Cherry Hill Rotunda

Monday, October 15, 2018  to  Sunday, March 31, 2019

Some drinking fountains, spray features, ornamental fountains, and bathrooms are closed for the season, from mid-October until mid to late March.

Sunday, October 28, 2018

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff (5M)

Sunday, November 4, 2018

All day

Race: TCS New York City Marathon
  • Closures and Affected Areas: Large portions of the Park will be closed to all visitors on race day: Central Park West perimeter sidewalk from 59th to 85th Street; West Drive from 59th to 85th Street; East Drive from 59th to 90th Street; All of Center Drive beginning at the 6th Avenue and 59th Street entrance
  • More Information: http://www.centralparknyc.org/events/individual-events/marathon.html

Saturday, November 17, 2018

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR NYC 60K

Sunday, November 18, 2018

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: Race to Deliver (4M)

Saturday, December 8, 2018

6:00 am - 12:00 pm

Race: NYRR Ted Corbitt 15K

Monday, December 31, 2018

7:00 pm - 1:00 am

Race: NYRR Midnight Run